Facebook Updates Privacy Settings, Not Everybody is Happy

December 10th, 2009 at 12:00 am
 


Facebook logo

Popular social networking site Facebook recently updates its privacy settings, which brought the ire of a number of its users, claiming the revisions has inadvertently exposed their personal information.

The updates were meant to customize the needs of Facebook’s over 350 million users, especially on who are allowed to view their profiles, albums, contact information, and even their comments on walls.  However, some users claim that they did not get what they bargain for.

Upon logging in to Facebook after the privacy updates, users were redirected to a multitude of choices on whom to share their private information:  whether they should stick to their old settings or show it to everybody.  Critics say that such options were geared to let users display everything in their profiles, including personal information such as e-mail address or their list of friends.

Blogger Marshall Kirkpatrick of ReadWriteWeb called the new privacy settings as "near Orwellian," referring to the novelist who wrote the dystopian novel "1984."

"That is not what Facebook users signed up for," Kirkpatrick adds.  "It’s not about privacy at all; it’s about increasing traffic and the visibility of activity on the site."

Other users, however, tells the critics to give Facebook some slack and simply understand how to use the new settings.  "You can hide everything (in your profile)," one person commented.  "Don’t (complain) about something you know nothing about."